Leadership & Administration (Click on the image to read the bio.)

Ian Jarvie

Executive Director|Head of School

ijarvie@bccaschool.ca

I have had the privilege of serving in the educational field since 1986. My wife and I first started our teaching careers in Tokyo. Our plan was to teach there for one year but God had other plans for us and we ended teaching in Japan for 5 years. Upon returning to the Vancouver lower mainland area (my birthplace) in the early 1990s, God led me to this small, upstart school called British Columbia Academy in September 1993. It was the school’s second year of operation and I had the privilege of teaching biblical truths to a grade 4-7 class (yes, one class with 4 grades in it!). Over my years at BCCA, I have taught multiple grades and courses from grades 4-12. In 1995-96, I was honoured to have been asked to be the interim principal of the school, and the following year, principal. It has been an amazing journey, where God has allowed me to be part of a wonderful Christian staff that has been able to impact the lives of our students and families for the sake of Christ. A highlight in my career took place when BC Christian Academy was finally able to purchase a school property of their own (the 1019 Fernwood Campus, PoCo) in June 2020. After 28 years, God has given us the opportunity to provide an excellent education for many generations to come. I cannot think of a more rewarding career where we can open the eyes of our students to God’s amazing creation!

Miguel Zhou

High School Principal

mzhou@bccaschool.ca

My name is Miguel Zhou and I am the high school Principal since 2018. I have taught all over the province at other independent Christian schools and am fortunate that God has led my family and me back home to the Lower Mainland, and to BC Christian Academy. My wife and I have been happily married for almost ten years and have recently welcomed our third child into our family. What excites me about my job is working with staff and students to continue growing in their biblical world views. My goal is to see our whole community flourish and love God greater with all their hearts, souls, strengths, and minds. Again, I thank God that He has brought me and all the staff of BCCA together to disciple, teach, and encourage our students from Creation to the New Creation.

Anthony Bylenga

Middle School Principal

tbylenga@bccaschool.ca

Where He leads, I will follow equipping children for life. For me, Christian education is all about the students: educating the head, heart, and hands with excellent academics and engaged student-centered learning and service opportunities. My goal as a Christian educator is to share the gospel and nurture students to be our Savior’s witness in every area of life and to follow Christ as his disciples in all areas of creation and culture. I have been involved in Christian Schooling as a teacher and an administrator for 39 years in both Canada and the United States.

Beth Peters

Elementary School Principal

bpeters@bccaschool.ca

My journey into education was an accidental one, at least from a human perspective. While pursuing an unfulfilling career in corporate banking, God nudged me to respond to a 3-week long plea in the church bulletin for Sunday School teachers. After training and beginning to teach my little class of 8 & 9-year-olds, it became immediately evident that working with children was a perfect fit for me and would become my life calling. After a 180 degree about-face back to university to earn my teacher certification, God planted me in the independent Christian school sector where training young disciples have become both a privilege and a passion. In 2007, BCCA welcomed me on staff to teach in the Primary Department with a leap into Administration 7 years later where I am presently serving a faithful and multi-talented staff in providing the solid, Christ-centered education for which our families are asking. May your unfailing love be with us, Lord, even as we put our hope in You. – Psalm 33:22

Admin & Front Office - High School

Peck Lim

Administrative Assistant

admin@bccaschool.ca

Alan Chiang

Office Assistant

alchiang@bccaschool.ca

Admin & Business Office - Elementary

Rosie Shen

Business Administrator

rshen@bccaschool.ca

Susan Gates

Bookkeeper

payables@bccaschool.ca

Greg Cheung

HR Coordinator

gcheung@bccaschool.ca

Elizabeth Fonacier

Office Secretary

admissions@bccaschool.ca

Mandy Cato

Office Assistant

mcato@bccaschool.ca

Consultants | Athletics | Marketing & Development | International Program | Main School Bus Driver

Geoffrey Ko (Click on the image to read the bio.)

Education Consultant

gko@bccaschool.ca

As the grateful uncle of two well-bred BCCA graduates, Gabriel and Nathan, Geoffrey Ko has been a keen supporter of the British Columbia Christian Academy since 2004. A trained musician and lifelong learner, Geoffrey has, by God’s grace, taught a great variety of subjects and served as the Music Director, Educational Administrator, and Head of Experiential Learning in several schools in Hong Kong and Canada as well as a university guest lecturer in conducting, music education and music administration. He further extended his vocational horizon by serving as the Assistant General Manager with the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, and Marketing Manager and Director of Training with Outward Bound. An alumnus of Regent College, he is an honorary Bible teacher and preacher at the Pentecostal Tabernacle Vancouver. Passionate about experiential learning, Geoffrey continues to devote himself whole-heartedly to human development and character-building as a voluntary educational consultant with conviction and zeal.

Geoffrey is the Consultant to the BCCA Experiential Learning Program.

Phil Hills

ACSI Consultant

Doug Dowell

Athletics Director

ddowell@bccaschool.ca

John Suan

Facilities Development Manager

jsuan@bccaschool.ca

Paul Lukianiuk

Facilities, Maintenance, & Transportation Manager

facilities@bccaschool.ca

Ana Enduma

Marketing Coordinator

anaenduma@bccaschool.ca

Ivan Boh

Marketing and Development Office Assistant

iboh@bccaschool.ca

Leticia Funes

International Program Coordinator

lfunes@bccaschool.ca

Camelia Vijulie

Bus Driver

cvijulie@bccaschool.ca

Elementary Staff

Mariam Barnes

Kindergarten – B

mbarnes@bccaschool.ca

Silviya Angelova

Kindergarten – A

sangelova@bccaschool.ca

Melody Bell

Grade 1 – B Teacher (Maternity Leave)

mbell@bccaschool.ca

Michelle Hamm

Grade 1 – H Teacher

mhamm@bccaschool.ca

Gigi Louie

Grade 1 - L Teacher

glouie@bccaschool.ca

Mira Patel

Grade 1 – P Teacher & Music Teacher

mpatel@bccaschool.ca

Shannon Hincks

Grade 2 – H Teacher / Librarian

shincks@bccaschool.ca

Laura Remy

Grade 2 – R Teacher

lremy@bccaschool.ca

Karen Harris

Grade 3 – H Teacher

kharris@bccaschool.ca

Jessica Fenske

Grade 3 – F Teacher

jfenske@bccaschool.ca

Kristina Fry

Grade 3 – F Teacher

kfry@bccaschool.ca

Karen Mende

Grade 4 - M Teacher

kmende@bccaschool.ca

Lissa Jones

Grade 4 - J Teacher

ljones@bccaschool.ca

Darryl Penner

Music Teacher

dpenner@bccaschool.ca

Middle School Staff

Odette Lombard

Grade 5 - L Teacher

olombard@bccaschool.ca

Mfon John

Grade 5 - J Teacher

mjohn@bccaschool.ca

Cornel Rosu

Grade 5/6 - R Teacher

crosu@bccaschool.ca

Anne-Marie Chamberlain

Grade 6 Teacher

achamberlain@bccaschool.ca

Yeon Mi Yun

Grade 6/7 - Y Teacher

yyun@bccaschool.ca

Joe Brandsma

Grade 7 Teacher

jbrandsma@bccaschool.ca

Michael Potopaev

Grade 8 - P Teacher

mpotopaev@bccaschool.ca

Andrew Westerveld

Grade 8 - W Teacher

awesterveld@bccaschool.ca

Moses Myung

Music Teacher

mmyung@bccaschool.ca

Elizabeth Dol

French Teacher

edol@bccaschool.ca

Michaela Mulder

Art Teacher

mmulder@bccaschool.ca

High School Staff

Blair Kuzyk

HS Science/Career Counseling & Head Teacher

bkuzyk@bccaschool.ca

Carmen Johns

Art Teacher

cjohns@bccaschool.ca

Daniel Kim

HS Math/Science Teacher

dkim@bccaschool.ca

David Wright

HS English/Humanities Teacher

dwright@bccaschool.ca

Ganesan Nagayah

HS Humanities/Career Life Teacher

gnagayah@bccaschool.ca

Gery Speck

HS System & Network Admin/Photography Teacher

gspeck@bccaschool.ca

James McLachlan

MS/HS PE/Wood Teacher

jmclachlan@bccaschool.ca

Lesley Wieler

ELL Teacher

lwieler@bccaschool.ca

Nathan Paul

CP Teacher

npaul@bccaschool.ca

Shirley Eu, RPC-C

HS ELL/Counsellor

seu@bccaschool.ca

Learning Resource Centre

Evangeline Torres

LRC Director

lrc@bccaschool.ca

Sharon Cheung

SEA

scheung@bccaschool.ca

Brooke Du Merton

SEA (Maternity Leave)

bmerton@bccaschool.ca

Daria Gumeniuk

SEA

dgumeniuk@bccaschool.ca

Claudia Libotean

SEA

clibotean@bccaschool.ca

Ezinne Obioha

SEA

eobioha@bccaschool.ca

Alma Pastrana

SEA

apastrana@bccaschool.ca

Sherri Van de Poll

SEA

svdepoll@bccaschool.ca

Tabita Kennedy

SEA

tdkennedy@bccaschool.ca

Hailey Peters

Learning Teacher Assistant

hpeters@bccaschool.ca

Anna Chan

LRC Assistant

crc@bccaschool.ca

LRC Dept MS

Josephine Seow

LRC Coordinator

jseow@bccaschool.ca

Keith Daley

SEA

kdaley@bccaschool.ca

Narin Cheng

SEA

ncheng@bccaschool.ca

Otanuwan Kadiri

SEA

okadiri@bccaschool.ca

Ladan Shajareh

SEA

lshajareh@bccaschool.ca

Tabita Chok

SEA

tabita@bccaschool.ca

LRC Dept HS

Charmaine Aguilar

LRC Coordinator

caguilar@bccaschool.ca

Olga Levouchkina

SEA

olevouchkina@bccaschool.ca

Melanie Cortner

SEA

mcortner@bccaschool.ca

Kids Club

Theresa Lee

Kids Club Director

kidsclub@bccaschool.ca

Candice Lee-Willemsen

Assistant Director (Maternity Leave)

candice@bccaschool.ca

Anna Liza Tayao Manila

Administrative Assistant

kcadminassistant@bccaschool.ca

Elly Park

Supervisor

elly@bccaschool.ca

Elisha Thomas

Supervisor

thomas@bccaschool.ca

Angela Jin

Office Assistant

kcoffcasst@bccaschool.ca

Bita Babaknia

bita@bccaschool.ca

Ann Frenal

ann@bccaschool.ca

Ati Sharafzadeh

ati@bccaschool.ca

Azi Ranaei

azi@bccaschool.ca

Beulah Smith

beulah@bccaschool.ca

Jeahee Lee

jaehee@bccaschool.ca

Danielle Lim

danielle@bccaschool.ca

Emily Xu

emily@bccaschool.ca

Eunice Jang

eunice@bccaschool.ca

Feri Kazemian

feri@bccaschool.ca

Gloria Niyomahoro

gloria@bccaschool.ca

Hamideh Barghbani

hamideh@bccaschool.ca

Jungsuk Han

han@bccaschool.ca

Janviere Niyuhire

janviere@bccaschool.ca

Jina Bak

jina@bccaschool.ca

Julia Valny

julia@bccaschool.ca

Kirsten Virus

kirsten@bccaschool.ca

Kitty Wong

kitty@bccaschool.ca

Lorie Leonem

lorie@bccaschool.ca

Martha Torres

martha@bccaschool.ca

Maryam Momeni

maryam@bccaschool.ca

Minji Kwon

minji@bccaschool.ca

Mona Roozban

mona@bccaschool.ca

Niloo Barazandeh

niloo@bccaschool.ca

Nina Kim

nina@bccaschool.ca

Noushin Salehi

noushin@bccaschool.ca

Paula Diaz

paula@bccaschool.ca

Selina Kim

selina@bccaschool.ca

Sukja Kim

sukja@bccaschool.ca

Kids Club Auxiliary | Support Staff

Berenice Fernandez

berenice@bccaschool.ca

Dohee Kim

dohee@bccaschool.ca

Claudia Libotean

clibotean@bccaschool.ca

Martin Niyomahoro

martin@bccaschool.ca

Alma Pastrana

apastrana@bccaschool.ca

Breena Pastrana

breena@bccaschool.ca

Richard Lee

Driver

Tony Cheng

Driver

Elementary

High School

Kids Club

Alumni

Attend a Tour