Book a Virtual Tour Now! | Accepting Applications for 2021-22 | COVID-19 Safety Plan 

Leadership & Administration

Ian Jarvie

Head Master

ijarvie@bccaschool.ca

I have had the privilege of serving in the educational field since 1986. My wife and I first started our teaching careers in Tokyo. Our plan was to teach there for one year but God had other plans for us and we ended teaching in Japan for 5 years. Upon returning to the Vancouver lower mainland area (my birthplace) in the early 1990s, God led me to this small, upstart school called British Columbia Academy in September 1993. It was the school’s second year of operation and I had the privilege of teaching biblical truths to a grade 4-7 class (yes, one class with 4 grades in it!). Over my years at BCCA, I have taught multiple grades and courses from grades 4-12. In 1995-96, I was honoured to have been asked to be the interim principal of the school, and the following year, principal. It has been an amazing journey, where God has allowed me to be part of a wonderful Christian staff that has been able to impact the lives of our students and families for the sake of Christ. A highlight in my career took place when BC Christian Academy was finally able to purchase a school property of their own (the 1019 Fernwood Campus, PoCo) in June 2020. After 28 years, God has given us the opportunity to provide an excellent education for many generations to come. I cannot think of a more rewarding career where we can open the eyes of our students to God’s amazing creation!

Miguel Zhou

High School Principal

mzhou@bccaschool.ca

My name is Miguel Zhou and I am the high school Principal since 2018. I have taught all over the province at other independent Christian schools and am fortunate that God has led my family and me back home to the Lower Mainland, and to BC Christian Academy. My wife and I have been happily married for almost ten years and have recently welcomed our third child into our family. What excites me about my job is working with staff and students to continue growing in their biblical world views. My goal is to see our whole community flourish and love God greater with all their hearts, souls, strengths, and minds. Again, I thank God that He has brought me and all the staff of BCCA together to disciple, teach, and encourage our students from Creation to the New Creation.

Beth Peters

Elementary Principal

bpeters@bccaschool.ca

My journey into education was an accidental one, at least from a human perspective. While pursuing an unfulfilling career in corporate banking, God nudged me to respond to a 3-week long plea in the church bulletin for Sunday School teachers. After training and beginning to teach my little class of 8 & 9-year-olds, it became immediately evident that working with children was a perfect fit for me and would become my life calling. After a 180 degree about-face back to university to earn my teacher certification, God planted me in the independent Christian school sector where training young disciples have become both a privilege and a passion. In 2007, BCCA welcomed me on staff to teach in the Primary Department with a leap into Administration 7 years later where I am presently serving a faithful and multi-talented staff in providing the solid, Christ-centered education for which our families are asking. May your unfailing love be with us, Lord, even as we put our hope in You. – Psalm 33:22

Anthony Bylenga

Assistant Elementary Principal/Grade 5

tbylenga@bccaschool.ca

Where He leads, I will follow equipping children for life. For me, Christian education is all about the students: educating the head, heart, and hands with excellent academics and engaged student-centered learning and service opportunities. My goal as a Christian educator is to share the gospel and nurture students to be our Savior’s witness in every area of life and to follow Christ as his disciples in all areas of creation and culture. I have been involved in Christian Schooling as a teacher and an administrator for 38 years in both Canada and the United States. I am presently the Grade 5 teacher and Assistant Principal of the Fernwood Campus.

Admin & Front Office - High School

Peck Lim

Administrative Assistant

admin@bccaschool.ca

Alan Chiang

Office Assistant

alchiang@bccaschool.ca

Admin & Business Office - Elementary

Rosie Shen

Business Administrator

rshen@bccaschool.ca

Susan Gates

Bookkeeper

payables@bccaschool.ca

Tania Sutanto

HR Administrator

tsutanto@bccaschool.ca

Elizabeth Fonacier

Office Secretary

admissions@bccaschool.ca

Mandy Cato

Office Assistant

mcato@bccaschool.ca

Athletics, Marketing & Development, International Program

Doug Dowell

Athletics Director Elementary/HS

ddowell@bccaschool.ca

John Suan

Facilities Development Manager

jsuan@bccaschool.ca

Paul Lukianiuk

Facilities Manager

facilities@bccaschool.ca

Ana Enduma

Marketing Coordinator

anaenduma@bccaschool.ca

Ivan Boh

International Program Coordinator/Marketing Assistant

iboh@bccaschool.ca

Elementary Staff

Kevin Luong

Kindergarten – L

kluong@bccaschool.ca

Mariam Barnes

Kindergarten – B

mbarnes@bccaschool.ca

Karen Mende

Kindergarten – M

kmende@bccaschool.ca

Melody Bell

Grade 1 – B Teacher

mbell@bccaschool.ca

Sara Concha

Grade 1 – C Teacher

sconcha@bccaschool.ca

Doris Granados

Grade 2 – G Teacher

dgranados@bccaschool.ca

Karen Harris

Grade 2 – H Co-teacher

kharris@bccaschool.ca

Elena Swope

Grade 2 – S Teacher

eswope@bccaschool.ca

Trisha Miller

Grade 2 – M Co-teacher

tmiller@bccaschool.ca

Nicholas Agon

Grade 3 – A Teacher

nagon@bccaschool.ca

Kristina Fry

Grade 3 – F Teacher

kfry@bccaschool.ca

Jessica Fenske

Grade 4 Teacher

jfenske@bccaschool.ca

Tony Bylenga

Grade 5 Teacher

tbylenga@bccaschool.ca

Anne-Marie Chamberlain

Grade 6 Teacher

achamberlain@bccaschool.ca

Joe Brandsma

Grade 7 Teacher

jbrandsma@bccaschool.ca

Darryl Penner

Music Teacher Primary

dpenner@bccaschool.ca

Ivy (Elisabeth) Lisik

Music Teacher Elementary/HS

ilisik@bccaschool.ca

Elizabeth Dol

French Teacher

edol@bccaschool.ca

Kathy King

Art Teacher

kking@bccaschool.ca

High School Staff

Blair Kuzyk

HS Science/Career Counseling

bkuzyk@bccaschool.ca

Ganesan Nagayah

HS Law & Eco/GIS Teacher

gnagayah@bccaschool.ca

David Wright

HS English/SS Teacher

dwright@bccaschool.ca

Gery Speck

HS Tech & Photography

gspeck@bccaschool.ca

Isaac Lisik

HS Math & French

isaaclisik@bccaschool.ca

Shirley Eu

HS ELL/Counsellor

seu@bccaschool.ca

Bronwyn Gray

ELL/Bible Teacher 1

bgray@bccaschool.ca

Carmen Johns

Electives Teacher

cjohns@bccaschool.ca

Jonathan Phang

HS PE/Science/Theatre/ELL

jphang@bccaschool.ca

James McLachlan

HS PE/SS/Math/Wood/Entrepreneur

jmclachlan@bccaschool.ca

Camelia Vijulie

Bus Driver

cvijulie@bccaschool.ca

Learning Resource Centre

Evangeline Torres

LRC Director

lrc@bccaschool.ca

Jasmine Tsing Lee

LRC Coordinator (Grades K-7)

jlee@bccaschool.ca

Faith M. Fox

LAT (K-7)

ffox@bccaschool.ca

Sherri Van de Poll

SEA 1 Intermediate

svdepoll@bccaschool.ca

Josephine Seow

SEA 2

jseow@bccaschool.ca

Keith Daley

SEA 3

jdaley@bccaschool.ca

Otanuwan Kadiri

SEA 4

okadiri@bccaschool.ca

Vilma R. Cruz

SEA 5

vcruz@bccaschool.ca

Ezinne Obioha

SEA 6

eobioha@bccaschool.ca

Brooke Du Merton

SEA 7

bmerton@bccaschool.ca

Anna Chan

LRC Assistant

crc@bccaschool.ca

LRC Dept HS

Charmaine Aguilar

LRC Coordinator 8-12

caguilar@bccaschool.ca

Narin Cheng

SEA 1

ncheng@bccaschool.ca

Brein Puffer

SEA 2

bpuffer@bccaschool.ca

Susan Rush

SEA 3

srush@bccaschool.ca

Shawna Warhurst

SEA 4

swarhurst@bccaschool.ca

Olga Levouchkina

SEA 5

olevouchkina@bccaschool.ca

Kids Club

Theresa Lee

Kids Club Director

kidsclub@bccaschool.ca

Candice Lee

Assistant Director

candice@bccaschool.ca

Anna Liza Tayao Manila

Administrative Assistant

kcadminassistant@bccaschool.ca

Elly Park

Supervisor

elly@bccaschool.ca

Kim Scott

Supervisor

kim@bccaschool.ca

Alma Pastrana

alma@bccaschool.ca

Andy Olonan

andy@bccaschool.ca

Azi Ranaei

azi@bccaschool.ca

Berenice Fernandez

berenice@bccaschool.ca

Beulah Smith

beulah@bccaschool.ca

Chamieh Lepine

chamieh@bccaschool.ca

Danielle Lim

danielle@bccaschool.ca

Elisha Thomas

thomas@bccaschool.ca

Elsa Phan

elsa@bccaschool.ca

Eva-Mai McHugh

eva@bccaschool.ca

Fahime Nosrati

fahime@bccaschool.ca

Feri Kazemian

feri@bccaschool.ca

Gloria Niyomahoro

gloria@bccaschool.ca

Grace Villarey

grace@bccaschool.ca

Hamideh Barghbani

hamideh@bccaschool.ca

Hosen Jeong

hosen@bccaschool.ca

Jacquelyn Phan

jacquelyn@bccaschool.ca

James Tjernagel

james@bccaschool.ca

Janet Medrano

janet@bccaschool.ca

Janviere Niyuhire

janviere@bccaschool.ca

Jayvee Cochingco

jayvee@bccaschool.ca

Joy Ha Suh

joy@bccaschool.ca

Julia Valny

julia@bccaschool.ca

Jungsuk Han

han@bccaschool.ca

Kunghee In

kunghee@bccaschool.ca

Lorie Leonem

lorie@bccaschool.ca

Martha Torres

martha@bccaschool.ca

Minji Kwon

minji@bccaschool.ca

Mona Roozban

mona@bccaschool.ca

Monica Fasihi Majd

monica@bccaschool.ca

Paula Diaz

paula@bccaschool.ca

Sukja Kim

sukja@bccaschool.ca

Jessica Duran

jessica@bccaschool.ca

Emily Zhang

emilyz@bccaschool.ca

Elementary

High School

Kids Club

Alumni

Attend a Tour