Leadership & Administration (Click on the image to read the bio.)

Ian Jarvie

Executive Director|Head of School

ijarvie@bccaschool.ca

I have had the privilege of serving in the educational field since 1986. My wife and I first started our teaching careers in Tokyo. Our plan was to teach there for one year but God had other plans for us and we ended teaching in Japan for 5 years. Upon returning to the Vancouver lower mainland area (my birthplace) in the early 1990s, God led me to this small, upstart school called British Columbia Academy in September 1993. It was the school’s second year of operation and I had the privilege of teaching biblical truths to a grade 4-7 class (yes, one class with 4 grades in it!). Over my years at BCCA, I have taught multiple grades and courses from grades 4-12. In 1995-96, I was honoured to have been asked to be the interim principal of the school, and the following year, principal. It has been an amazing journey, where God has allowed me to be part of a wonderful Christian staff that has been able to impact the lives of our students and families for the sake of Christ. A highlight in my career took place when BC Christian Academy was finally able to purchase a school property of their own (the 1019 Fernwood Campus, PoCo) in June 2020. After 28 years, God has given us the opportunity to provide an excellent education for many generations to come. I cannot think of a more rewarding career where we can open the eyes of our students to God’s amazing creation!

Miguel Zhou

High School Principal

mzhou@bccaschool.ca

My name is Miguel Zhou and I am the high school Principal since 2018. I have taught all over the province at other independent Christian schools and am fortunate that God has led my family and me back home to the Lower Mainland, and to BC Christian Academy. My wife and I have been happily married for almost ten years and have recently welcomed our third child into our family. What excites me about my job is working with staff and students to continue growing in their biblical world views. My goal is to see our whole community flourish and love God greater with all their hearts, souls, strengths, and minds. Again, I thank God that He has brought me and all the staff of BCCA together to disciple, teach, and encourage our students from Creation to the New Creation.

Anthony Bylenga

Middle School Principal

tbylenga@bccaschool.ca

Where He leads, I will follow equipping children for life. For me, Christian education is all about the students: educating the head, heart, and hands with excellent academics and engaged student-centered learning and service opportunities. My goal as a Christian educator is to share the gospel and nurture students to be our Savior’s witness in every area of life and to follow Christ as his disciples in all areas of creation and culture. I have been involved in Christian Schooling as a teacher and an administrator for 39 years in both Canada and the United States.

Beth Peters

Elementary School Principal

bpeters@bccaschool.ca

My journey into education was an accidental one, at least from a human perspective. While pursuing an unfulfilling career in corporate banking, God nudged me to respond to a 3-week long plea in the church bulletin for Sunday School teachers. After training and beginning to teach my little class of 8 & 9-year-olds, it became immediately evident that working with children was a perfect fit for me and would become my life calling. After a 180 degree about-face back to university to earn my teacher certification, God planted me in the independent Christian school sector where training young disciples have become both a privilege and a passion. In 2007, BCCA welcomed me on staff to teach in the Primary Department with a leap into Administration 7 years later where I am presently serving a faithful and multi-talented staff in providing the solid, Christ-centered education for which our families are asking. May your unfailing love be with us, Lord, even as we put our hope in You. – Psalm 33:22

Admin & Front Office - High School

Peck Lim

Administrative Assistant

admin@bccaschool.ca

Alan Chiang

Office Assistant

alchiang@bccaschool.ca

Admin & Business Office - Elementary

Rosie Shen

Business Administrator

rshen@bccaschool.ca

Susan Gates

Bookkeeper

payables@bccaschool.ca

Anna Liza Tayao Manila

HR & Payroll Administrator

amanila@bccaschool.ca

Meina Low

Business Development Office Administrator

mnlow@bccaschool.ca

Elizabeth Fonacier

Office Secretary

admissions@bccaschool.ca

Mandy Cato

Office Assistant

mcato@bccaschool.ca

Linda Todd

Board Secretary/Office Assistant

boardsecretary@bccaschool.ca

Consultants | Athletics | Marketing & Development | International Program | Main School Bus Driver

Geoffrey Ko (Click on the image to read the bio.)

Education Consultant

gko@bccaschool.ca

As the grateful uncle of two well-bred BCCA graduates, Gabriel and Nathan, Geoffrey Ko has been a keen supporter of the British Columbia Christian Academy since 2004. A trained musician and lifelong learner, Geoffrey has, by God’s grace, taught a great variety of subjects and served as the Music Director, Educational Administrator, and Head of Experiential Learning in several schools in Hong Kong and Canada as well as a university guest lecturer in conducting, music education and music administration. He further extended his vocational horizon by serving as the Assistant General Manager with the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, and Marketing Manager and Director of Training with Outward Bound. An alumnus of Regent College, he is an honorary Bible teacher and preacher at the Pentecostal Tabernacle Vancouver. Passionate about experiential learning, Geoffrey continues to devote himself whole-heartedly to human development and character-building as a voluntary educational consultant with conviction and zeal.

Geoffrey is the Consultant to the BCCA Experiential Learning Program.

Phil Hills

ACSI Consultant

Doug Dowell

Athletics Director

ddowell@bccaschool.ca

John Suan

Facilities Development Manager

jsuan@bccaschool.ca

Paul Lukianiuk

Facilities, Maintenance, & Transportation Manager

facilities@bccaschool.ca

Ana Enduma

Community Engagement Coordinator

anaenduma@bccaschool.ca

Cecilia Postiglioni

Community Engagement Assistant

cpostiglioni@bccaschool.ca

Ivan Boh

Development & Community Engagement Assistant

iboh@bccaschool.ca

Camelia Vijulie

Bus Driver

cvijulie@bccaschool.ca

Elementary Staff

Mariam Barnes

Kindergarten – B

mbarnes@bccaschool.ca

Silviya Angelova

Kindergarten – A

sangelova@bccaschool.ca

Melody Bell

Grade 1 - B/M Teacher

mbell@bccaschool.ca

Trish Miller

Grade 1 - B/M Teacher

tmiller@bccaschool.ca

Michelle Hamm

Grade 1 – H Teacher

mhamm@bccaschool.ca

Karina Chan

Grade 2 – C Teacher

kchan@bccaschool.ca

Laura Remy

Grade 2 – R/B Teacher

lremy@bccaschool.ca

Heather Balzer

Grade 2 - R/B Teacher

hbalzer@bccaschool.ca

Kathryn Dyck

Grade 3 - D Teacher

kdyck@bccaschool.ca

Karen Harris

Grade 3 – H/F Teacher

kharris@bccaschool.ca

Jessica Fenske

Grade 3 – H/F Teacher

jfenske@bccaschool.ca

Karen Mende

Grade 4 - M Teacher

kmende@bccaschool.ca

Doris Granados

Grade 4 - K/G Teacher

dgranados@bccaschool.ca

Tonya Kulak

Grade 4 - K/G Teacher

tkulak@bccaschool.ca

Lissa Jones (Maternity Leave)

Grade 4 - J Teacher

ljones@bccaschool.ca

Darryl Penner

Music Teacher

dpenner@bccaschool.ca

Crystal Chow

Music Teacher

cchow@bccaschool.ca

Olga Levouchkina

Librarian

olevouchkina@bccaschool.ca

Middle School Staff

Odette Lombard

Grade 5 - L Teacher

olombard@bccaschool.ca

Mfon John

Grade 5 - J Teacher

mjohn@bccaschool.ca

Anne-Marie Chamberlain

Grade 6 - C Teacher

achamberlain@bccaschool.ca

Carol Wong

Grade 6 - W Teacher

cwong@bccaschool.ca

Yeon Mi Yun

Grade 7 - Y Teacher

yyun@bccaschool.ca

Joe Brandsma

Grade 7 - B Teacher

jbrandsma@bccaschool.ca

Michael Potopaev

Grade 8 - P Teacher

mpotopaev@bccaschool.ca

Andrew Westerveld

Grade 8 - W Teacher

awesterveld@bccaschool.ca

Elizabeth Dol

French Teacher

edol@bccaschool.ca

Rosa Hosseini

MS Math Teacher

rhosseini@bccaschool.ca

Moses Myung

MS Music Teacher

mmyung@bccaschool.ca

Vilma Cruz

Art & Flex Teacher

vcruz@bccaschool.ca

Cornel Rosu

Flex Teacher

crosu@bccaschool.ca

High School Staff

Blair Kuzyk

HS Science/Career Counseling & Head Teacher

bkuzyk@bccaschool.ca

Carmen Johns

HS Art Teacher

cjohns@bccaschool.ca

Daniel Kim

HS Math/Science Teacher

dkim@bccaschool.ca

David Wright

HS English/Humanities Teacher

dwright@bccaschool.ca

Ganesan Nagayah

HS Humanities/Career Life Teacher

gnagayah@bccaschool.ca

Gery Speck

HS System & Network Admin/Photography Teacher

gspeck@bccaschool.ca

James McLachlan

MS/HS PE/Wood Teacher

jmclachlan@bccaschool.ca

Nathan Paul

CP Teacher

npaul@bccaschool.ca

Moses Myung

HS Music Teacher

mmyung@bccaschool.ca

Oksana Bieliaieva

HS French Teacher

obieliaieva@bccaschool.ca

Shirley Eu, RPC-C

HS ELL/Counsellor

seu@bccaschool.ca

Lalainia Strelau

Theatre

lstrelau@bccaschool.ca

Solomon Yu

HS Math/Comp Science/ADST Teacher

syu@bccaschool.ca

Julia Mihoc

HS ELL & PE Teacher

jmihoc@bccaschool.ca

Learning Support Services

Evangeline Torres

Learning Support Services (LSS) Director

lss@bccaschool.ca

Josephine Seow

LSS Coordinator-ES

jseow@bccaschool.ca

Veronika Gamarra

SEA

vgamarra@bccaschool.ca

Claudia Libotean

SEA

clibotean@bccaschool.ca

Celine (Andy) Olonan

SEA

Jihan Frenal

SEA

jfrenal@bccaschool.ca

Ezinne Obioha

SEA

eobioha@bccaschool.ca

Shannon Hinks

SEA

shinks@bccaschool.ca

Sherri Van de Poll

SEA

svdepoll@bccaschool.ca

Susan Wickham

SEA

swickham@bccaschool.ca

Anna Chan

LSS Assistant

alim@bccaschool.ca

LSS Dept MS

Narin Cheng

LSS Coordinator-MS

ncheng@bccaschool.ca

Daria Gumeniuk

LAT

dgunmeniuk@bccaschool.ca

Charlene Maitland

SEA

cmaitland@bccaschool.ca

Alma Pastrana

SEA

apastrana@bccaschool.ca

Diansy Cruz Garrido

SEA

dcruz@bccaschool.ca

Ezinne Obioha

SEA

eobioha@bccaschool.ca

Keith Daley

SEA

kdaley@bccaschool.ca

Otanuwan Kadiri

SEA

okadiri@bccaschool.ca

Ladan Shajareh

SEA

lshajareh@bccaschool.ca

LSS Dept HS

Charmaine Aguilar

LSS Coordinator

caguilar@bccaschool.ca

Melanie Cortner

SEA

mcortner@bccaschool.ca

Yeawool Seo

SEA

yseo@bccaschool.ca

Tina Tso

SEA

ttso@bcaschool.ca

Shawna Warhurst

SEA

swarhurst@bccaschool.ca

Yetla Hernandez

SEA

yhernandez@bccaschool.ca

Kids Club

Theresa Lee

Kids Club Director

kidsclub@bccaschool.ca

Candice Lee-Willemsen (Maternity Leave)

Assistant Director

candice@bccaschool.ca

Elly Park

Supervisor

elly@bccaschool.ca

Elisha Shaba

Supervisor

elisha@bccaschool.ca

Danielle Lim

Supervisor

danielle@bccaschool.ca

Martina Ma

Supervisor

martina@bccaschool.ca

Angela Jin

Admissions

kcadmissions@bccaschool.ca

Su Vericherla

Administrative Assistant

kcadminassistant@bccaschool.ca

Ati Sharafzadeh

ati@bccaschool.ca

Azi Ranaei

azi@bccaschool.ca

Beulah Smith

beulah@bccaschool.ca

Elham Radbayat

elham@bccaschool.ca

Emily Xu

emily@bccaschool.ca

Erika Valencia

erika@bccaschool.ca

Feri Kazemian

feri@bccaschool.ca

Golnaz Taghavi

golnaz@bccaschool.ca

Hamideh Barghbani

hamideh@bccaschool.ca

Jungsuk Han

han@bccaschool.ca

Jaehee Lee

jaehee@bccaschool.ca

Jessie Poma Lopze

jessie@bccaschool.ca

Jina Bak (Maternity Leave)

jina@bccaschool.ca

Julia Zhu

juliaz@bccaschool.ca

Juliet Motol

juliet@bccaschool.ca

Ksenia Sydorenko

ksenia@bccaschool.ca

Lorie Leonem

lorie@bccaschool.ca

Martha Torres

martha@bccaschool.ca

Mary Hosseini

mary@bccaschool.ca

Maryam Momeni

maryam@bccaschool.ca

Mayling Sandoval

mayling@bccaschool.ca

Minji Kwon

minji@bccaschool.ca

Mona Roozban

mona@bccaschool.ca

Niloo Barazandeh

niloo@bccaschool.ca

Nina Kim

nina@bccaschool.ca

Noushin Salehi

noushin@bccaschool.ca

Oksana Konopka

oksana@bccaschool.ca

Paula Diaz

paula@bccaschool.ca

Selina Kim

selina@bccaschool.ca

Viktoriia Maschenko

viktoriia@bccaschool.ca

Vita Serdiuk

vita@bccaschool.ca

Kids Club Auxiliary | Support Staff

Alma Pastrana

apastrana@bccaschool.ca

Ann Frenal

ann@bccaschool.ca

Fatemeh Norouzianfar

fatemeh@bccaschool.ca

Grace Villarey

gvillarey@bccaschool.ca

Julia Valny

julia@bccaschool.ca

Richard Lee

Driver

Tony Cheng

Driver

Elementary

High School

Kids Club

Alumni

Attend a Tour